Book review- Sharp Objects

I’ll kick this off by admitting that I bought this book because of the hype surrounding the recent HBO adaptation starring Amy Adams. That’s not to say I wouldn’t have read it at some point; I’ve had every intention of reading Gillian Flynn’s entire bibliography ever since I read Gone Girl a few years ago. But so many books, so little time- you get it.

While I was reading this book, the main thought running through my head was “this is messed up.” The characters, their mental states, their relationships, their backgrounds- none of it is healthy. Our main character, Camille, isn’t the Only Sane Man in a novel full of people with issues. She has just as many issues as the rest of them, and I loved that.

The character I found most intriguing, in an “I don’t know if I hate her, fear her or pity her” kind of way was Camille’s younger half-sister, Ammy. I’m pretty glad the 13 year olds weren’t like that at my school, that’s for sure.

I’d read many reviews by people saying that this is Flynn’s best. I think for me, Gone Girl still sits a little higher on the list than this one for all it’s twists and turns, but Sharp Objects is a very, very close second.

 

Recommended if you liked

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑